‘Jurassic World’ Becomes Third Highest Grossing Film of All Time

Looks like Chris Pratt can rest assured that no matter what happens in his career, studios will always be willing to pay him the big bucks now that his mega-blockbuster Jurassic World is officially the third highest grossing film of all time.

The fourth instalment in the ‘monster’ franchise overtook Marvel’s 2012 all-star superhero flick Avengers: Assemble with $1.522 billion in box office revenue, just overshadowing Avengers impressive hall of $1.520 billion.

This will certainly be a massive boost for Universal as they try to regain some share of the market from the likes of Marvel and Warner Bros. who’ve been swamping the market with superhero franchises – though with a sequel penned for 2018, the Orlando based studio may need to rediscover some other old classics of its to compete on a regular basis.

Many will ask exactly how long Jurassic World will be able to maintain its new global position – with Star Wars: Episode VII due for release this Christmas and certain to break records, the dino-heroes may very well see their position slip from the top three, which is currently occupied by Mr James Cameron and his seemingly unbeatable hits Avatar (1st) and Titanic (2nd) which both broke the $2 billion dollar mark.

None-the-less, Universal can certainly hold their heads high and enjoy the moment that is richly deserved – check out the review of Jurassic World here »

Below is the complete top 10 list, provided by boxofficemojo.com, of all time box office takings, with 2015 all ready proving to be a record breaking year in box office history:

  1. Avatar (2009) – $2.788 Billion
  2. Titanic (1997) – $2.186 Billion
  3. Jurassic World (2015) – $1.524 Billion
  4. Marvel’s The Avengers (2012) – $1.519 Billion
  5. Furious 7 (2015) – $1.511 Billion
  6. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) – $1.393 Billion
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 (2011) – $1.341 Billion
  8. Frozen (2013) – $1.274 Billion
  9. Iron Man 3 (2013) – $1.215 Billion
  10. Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011) – $1.123 Billion